PPP – Social Media

Social media is possibly the biggest thing going right now as everything turns to the digital side. The accounts I hold professionally and personally benefit me from following companies and having them view my profile.

As we fall in to this digital age many companies are now posting vacancies online, however, unlike before where they would post them on the company website they are now posting them via social media websites and recruiting sites.

As one of my bible websites is mediamuppet.com I naturally came across this article:

http://mediamuppet.com/20-media-companies-who-post-their-job-vacancies-on-facebook-and-twitter

A list of companies that post their vacancies online via social media, in light of this I followed those that were of interest to me and what I wish to do in the future, and now I frequently track listings and postings of vacancies that pop up from time to time.

Facebook

facebook

Although great for keeping up with friends and family facebook isn’t the most employment friendly social media site. A lot of employers will now look at your profiles when considering you and if there are drunken photos and rude status’ that are effing and blinding they will more than likely throw you out of the running straight away, therefore making sure your profile is employer friendly or doing something as little as changing your privacy settings so that only certain things can be seen you won’t dampen your chances. At the moment having liked a few company pages, I have seen and applied for vacancies that have been posted.

Twitter

twitter

Twitter is what I use both personally and professionally following friends, recruiters and companies and having the same groups follow me back. This is the most useful tool for me as I can view listings and vacancies tweeted, expand my network through people I follow and through those who follow me; as I have gained many followers who are like minded and involved in the industry just through being linked to media networks and organisations. It is also a very good tool for employer to use to view what kind of person you are without getting too much information, and as I have previously read it is useful to see how active you are with social media tools; for example if I see a listing or vacancy that doesn’t interest me but may interest some of my followers I will re-tweet the opportunity. In doing this it shows an employer that your not only active in social media but that you are a team player and keen to help others.

LinkedIn

linkedin

LinkedIn is by far the most professional of all my social media accounts as it has all my professional experiences, connections to companies I have worked for, people I have networked with, and also organisations that I follow. Employers can view my professional side without having to sift through lots of personal information or requesting a c.v as it is all there ready on my profile. I use this account to regularly search for jobs and graduate opportunities and have even been head hunted by a previous colleague whom I did a placement with last year, and was given the opportunity to take up another placement with her at a new company this Easter. This goes to show that if you make a lasting impression, have a good online presence, and keep in contact with previous networks numerous opportunities will open up. I have also recently connected with an old family friend who has worked all over the industry in animation, who now works at the ‘Mill’ a big production company, and has said he will contact me for any up and coming opening days.

I also hold accounts on the following which I check on a regular basis for jobs and other opportunities:

http://www.thecallsheet.co.uk
http://www.myfirstjobinfilm.com
http://www.starnow.co.uk
http://www.trafficlighttv.com

About gailenepierre

Ambitious and driven but knows how to have funnnn :)

Leave a Reply

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

pms305mc

Power Memory Spectacle

Sunil's Media Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

The last step, year 3!

Final Year, final blog!

bigbouncybalibus

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dean Atkinson

Director, Producer, Writer, Presenter

Finale Year

Greatness comes in time, with hard work and dedication.

thelifeofdeano

Life is what you make it.

sammieprior

Just another WordPress.com site

162MC

Just another WordPress.com site

kurtlambertmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

digitalfilms

a blog by Oliver Peters

documentaryproduction261

Just another WordPress.com site

Alex Holland's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Castlerockseb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Rumena Zlatkova

Life is what we make happen

Thomas Barnes

Welcome to my head... Please wipe your feet on the way in.

