A304MC Pass it on – Mentoring Reflection/Evaluation

At the beginning of this module I was apprehensive as to whether or not I would enjoy the course, but that soon went away with the lessons being about communication, listening, self assessment and group work all of which I am very good at and so I was happy to be doing something I am good at. Then came the doubts about mentoring as the sessions drew nearer, I have previously mentored before, however, this has only been on a one to one basis and the mentees were a lot younger than us. I felt nervous as this time round I would be mentoring as a team to a whole group only two years younger than ourselves, I was more anxious than anything about them not listening to us and thinking that we had no right to tell them how things should be done.

After our first session which was our hardest, as we had to introduce ourselves and get to know our group and explain things repeatedly to each person, I realised that this wasn’t going to be as scary as I thought and the fact that us and our group took to each other really well meant that I knew we could really make the most out of these sessions together. As the weeks went by all of the mentors including myself grew more confident as we were each working in a section of the T.V studio that we knew best (Jess and I in the gallery and Helena and Alex in the studio) which meant we could work to our strengths and yet still be able to learn and help each other our on our weaknesses. This worked extremely well and gave the mentees an equal opportunity to gain a clear understanding of what goes on in each part of the studio and how each role and control station should work.

There were some days where our group were being rowdy and not really communicating with each other well, but overall they have been very attentive and picked things up quickly, taking instruction well and not hesitating to ask questions or for help. I have managed to better my people skills in talking in front of groups, boosted my confidence in my skills, knowledge and can do attitude when it comes to problem solving, and also conquered my fear of teaching an age group close to my own. This module has been very endearing because not only has it helped us to guide, support, and instruct, it has helped us to work close knit as a team and form friendship and professional boundaries, as well as teach a group of people something they have never learnt before, and at the end of it to be able to stand of their own capabilities.

I have thoroughly enjoyed this module and would recommend it to anyone, I definitely would do it all over again, as you get the best feeling knowing that not just you but the people you have mentored have gained something out of the experience.

About gailenepierre

Ambitious and driven but knows how to have funnnn :)

Leave a Reply

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

pms305mc

Power Memory Spectacle

Sunil's Media Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

The last step, year 3!

Final Year, final blog!

bigbouncybalibus

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dean Atkinson

Director, Producer, Writer, Presenter

Finale Year

Greatness comes in time, with hard work and dedication.

thelifeofdeano

Life is what you make it.

sammieprior

Just another WordPress.com site

162MC

Just another WordPress.com site

kurtlambertmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

digitalfilms

a blog by Oliver Peters

documentaryproduction261

Just another WordPress.com site

Alex Holland's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Castlerockseb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Rumena Zlatkova

Life is what we make happen

Thomas Barnes

Welcome to my head... Please wipe your feet on the way in.

