A304MC Pass it on – Mentoring Presentation & Planning

For our presentation we have decided to it as a group, that way we can cover everything and make it look good and not so mundane. Before our meeting I put forward the idea of using the T.V studio in our recording where we could say what we’e learnt and what it is to be a good student mentor as some sort of news report, as this has been where we have been based the past 5 weeks, we also said that we would do it in the first few days in coming back after Easter break.

The group took on board this idea of using the studio and in the part of the meeting that I sadly couldn’t attend worked out how we could do the presentation. It was decided that we would each be placed in a role within the half of the studio that we worked in and we would say what we had prepared about our learning, what we had done in general and what it means to be a good student mentor.

The flow would be as follows;

* Black screen hear the voice of someone saying the studio phrases when going live (Standby studio, standby gallery etc)

*Have someone in the pa/directors position to say their piece.

*Camera swings over to someone in the vision mixer/sound position to say their piece.

*Camera then swings to the take screen of the other person standing in the studio.

*Cuts to being in the studio with someone as presenter to say their bit.

*Then swings over to the last person in floor manager/camera position to say their bit.

*Finally the camera swings away, cut is shouted, then black as house lights going off is shouted.

Here is my prepared speech:

Being a good student mentor means being supportive and I believe I have done so whilst working in the gallery with our mentees, instructing how to set up each station and being on standby should they need any further assistance. This role has helped my people skills progress further as I often get nervous when speaking in front of a group of people. At the beginning of this module I was apprehensive when speaking, but the good listening nature of our group and our pre session planning meant that as the weeks went by I got more confident when talking to the whole group.

I found that using my strengths worked really well as when in the gallery I knew each station and knew what I was doing which meant I could instruct clearly and confidently. If something cropped up that I didn’t know how to fix, I wouldn’t hesitate to try and solve the problem. I found that if you keep calm then the mentees won’t panic. I’ve learnt to teach in groups as I’ve only ever mentored on a one to one basis, however, I also got to do this when explaining panels individually. I’ve also learnt to set boundaries between being a supportive peer and being a friend.

From this course I have furthered my people skills and learnt to teach in groups. I got a lot more out of this than I expected and I feel I have performed better than I have previously in one to one mentoring. And as a team we have worked really well together and received some really good feedback.

Here is our presentation: https://vimeo.com/64297933

About gailenepierre

Ambitious and driven but knows how to have funnnn :)

Leave a Reply

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

pms305mc

Power Memory Spectacle

Sunil's Media Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

The last step, year 3!

Final Year, final blog!

bigbouncybalibus

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dean Atkinson

Director, Producer, Writer, Presenter

Finale Year

Greatness comes in time, with hard work and dedication.

thelifeofdeano

Life is what you make it.

sammieprior

Just another WordPress.com site

162MC

Just another WordPress.com site

kurtlambertmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

digitalfilms

a blog by Oliver Peters

documentaryproduction261

Just another WordPress.com site

Alex Holland's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Castlerockseb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Rumena Zlatkova

Life is what we make happen

Thomas Barnes

Welcome to my head... Please wipe your feet on the way in.

