PPP – Sound Technician

One of the other productions I was involved in was ‘Convolution’ by Flicker Films, and Sound Technician.

Date of filming: April 4th – 7th
Location: Galloway Forest, Dumfries, Scotland.

2013-04-06 17.08.14

I was excited to be on this project especially filming in Scotland, somewhere different and also somewhere I had never been before. As sound technician I knew that I would be in charge of picking up sound making sure my files were copied over by someone and that the equipment had been fully charged. I was using the 7440 which I had only ever used once before and it was all set up for me, but this time I would be in charge of it completely and so I found this little tip sheet to help me.

I loved this role as for the first few hours of each day I was gathering ambient sound, which meant I had to move away from the group, but allowed me to go exploring at the same time. I found little babble brooks and hidden places to record from and nice serene spots where all I could hear was birds tweeting and the wind rustling the leaves of the trees. The night time scenes were where I was need the most as there was a lot of dialogue between the couple, however, on the last night I was so tired that I fell asleep just before the end of filming as it was already half 3 by the time I fell asleep and they kept going until 4 half 4. The crew of this production was massive and therefore took a lot of time to get everyone organised, which was unfortunate as the organisation up until this point had been really good, but on the days of the shoot organisation was little to non existent. There was a lot of waiting around whilst things were being changed, sorted out and re-planned, this was frustrating for the crew but even more so for the actors as we all knew there was a lot to be done and yet sitting around waiting became a second nature. On the third day crew who were no longer needed were sent home and the rest of us stayed to finish the filming, leaving the director, producer, dop, lighting, sound and the two actors.

Adding to the time frustrations, storyboards and shots were changed as we went along which meant the people that really knew what was going on were the director, dop and producer of the film, which often threw off other people’s jobs. The generator broke, light bulbs were smashed, electric went out and people were suffering from exhaustion as a result of us working into the early hours of the morning. Despite this the locations we filmed in were absolutely fantastic and our accommodation was more than accommodating and meals and travel were taken care of.

This project was very gruelling and a real learning experience, it was especially challenging for me as I had come off the ‘Sincerely Yours’ project gone straight into my placement and then filmed this project having to go straight back to placement the morning after getting back from Scotland. I’ve learnt an awful lot from this project not necessarily positives but lessons learnt all the same.

2013-04-06 15.50.54 2013-04-06 16.17.25 2013-04-06 16.18.09 2013-04-06 21.08.36 2013-04-06 23.05.34 2013-04-04 20.04.00

About gailenepierre

Ambitious and driven but knows how to have funnnn :)

Leave a Reply

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

pms305mc

Power Memory Spectacle

Sunil's Media Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

The last step, year 3!

Final Year, final blog!

bigbouncybalibus

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dean Atkinson

Director, Producer, Writer, Presenter

Finale Year

Greatness comes in time, with hard work and dedication.

thelifeofdeano

Life is what you make it.

sammieprior

Just another WordPress.com site

162MC

Just another WordPress.com site

kurtlambertmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

digitalfilms

a blog by Oliver Peters

documentaryproduction261

Just another WordPress.com site

Alex Holland's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Castlerockseb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Rumena Zlatkova

Life is what we make happen

Thomas Barnes

Welcome to my head... Please wipe your feet on the way in.

