PPP – Where I’m Headed

At the moment I feel as if I am heading in the right direction, I’ve got a few experiences under my belt and have made many contacts over the past three years. I have applied for many jobs and was even offered a chance to be a runner for 4thought.TV

There are the many sites in which I use to apply for jobs and opportunities such as:

www.myfirstjobinfilm.co.uk
www.starnow.co.uk
www.trafficlighttv.com
www.thecallsheet.co.uk
www.theunitlist.com
www.mediaweekjobs.co.uk
www.broadcastjobs.co.uk
www.medianation.co.uk
www.mediavolt.co.uk
www.mediamuppet.co.uk
www.gothinkbig.co.uk
www.grapevinejobs.co.uk
www.runnersinproduction.com
www.thetalentmanager.co.uk
www.mandy.com
www.filmandtvpro.com
www.mediaparents.co.uk
www.yellowcatrecruitment.co.uk

I also hold my C.V on many talent and recruitment data bases such as:

Optomen People
Shine Talent
Hattrick
FreshOne
FreemantleMedia/TalkbackThames
The Talent Manager
All3Media
Endenmol Talent

This allows employers to recruit quickly picking from their database, it is important to keep your C.V up to date and upload new versions as soon as they are available as you never know when it may be looked at. I also find that a more effective way to hear about vacancies is to apply directly to the company as they may have immediate places to fill, as the industry is ever changing at an accelerated speed, and even if there isn’t anything you are communicating with them directly and they get to know your name. I do this every few weeks or at least once a month so that my C.V is the near the top of an incredibly long list of applicants.

I also plan to apply for some more internships and schemes that I know are coming soon, I have already applied for a few including the Channel 4 Production Scheme, however, it is always good to keep options open in case one falls through.
I have recently applied for a Camera Assistant role for an excellent company called Sprat, who have extensive connections and have trained up many of those who work in the television industry at this very moment. They have already viewed my profile which means I am being considered for the role, but I know this is a competitive industry and therefore will have to wait for a reply before getting too excited.
Camera Assistant wanted - UK

My next steps will be to look at the types of roles I want to go into within the television industry in detail.

About gailenepierre

Ambitious and driven but knows how to have funnnn :)

Leave a Reply

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

pms305mc

Power Memory Spectacle

Sunil's Media Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

The last step, year 3!

Final Year, final blog!

bigbouncybalibus

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dean Atkinson

Director, Producer, Writer, Presenter

Finale Year

Greatness comes in time, with hard work and dedication.

thelifeofdeano

Life is what you make it.

sammieprior

Just another WordPress.com site

162MC

Just another WordPress.com site

kurtlambertmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

digitalfilms

a blog by Oliver Peters

documentaryproduction261

Just another WordPress.com site

Alex Holland's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Castlerockseb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Rumena Zlatkova

Life is what we make happen

Thomas Barnes

Welcome to my head... Please wipe your feet on the way in.

