FMP: Test Footage

I have created a 3min piece of test footage full of shots that are similar to ones I will be using in the actual film, with the right colour and lighting. Once I edited the shots I chose done of the audio I have already gathered and put it underneath the visuals as an example of how the image may not match the speech.

Unfortunately I had to do the test shoot by myself and I didn’t have much time to do it in as my contributor was very busy at the time, and so I cracked on with what I could trying to experiment with different shots. The shots that I managed to get I am happy with, although I would have preferred for them to be tighter but as I didn’t have another lens I was unable to do this, however, this will be something to note down for the actual shoot. The warm tones and colour palette mixed in with some of the cold shots looks strange and nice, but I like strange and the film is strange and unconventional and so this is what I will try to achieve again when shooting.

The big problem I had when test shooting was the weather as it had just snowed and everywhere was still icy and also got dark very quickly, meaning that I scrapped those shots when it came to putting the footage together. The other problem was the amount of space I had, as my contributors house is small and holds funny angles which is going to be difficult when I have more than two people in the room. I will have warn my crew of this and make up some floor plans for my lighting and dop so they can work out where it is possible to position things, we will also have to look up weather forecasts and try to work to what the weather is doing either by changing shots or working around it.

Overall I am happy with the footage I got, the whole thing gave me an idea of what it will be like on the day of shooting and exactly how to frame and light the shots, this will also mean that no time is wasted trying to figure all of this out on the day.

I got some brilliant feedback from my test footage with comments about the lighting and how nice it made the colour of the shots. There was also comments about how they are now able to visualise how the actual film is going to look, and how much more interested they are to see the real thing.

For privacy reasons I have password protected the video, so I’d you wish to view the video do not hesitate to contact me for the password, by leaving a comment.

https://vimeo.com/59347221

Here are a few screen shots:

Screenshot7 Screenshot6 Screenshot5 Screenshot4 Screenshot3 Screenshot2 Screenshot1

About gailenepierre

Ambitious and driven but knows how to have funnnn :)

Leave a Reply

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

pms305mc

Power Memory Spectacle

Sunil's Media Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

The last step, year 3!

Final Year, final blog!

bigbouncybalibus

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dean Atkinson

Director, Producer, Writer, Presenter

Finale Year

Greatness comes in time, with hard work and dedication.

thelifeofdeano

Life is what you make it.

sammieprior

Just another WordPress.com site

162MC

Just another WordPress.com site

kurtlambertmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

digitalfilms

a blog by Oliver Peters

documentaryproduction261

Just another WordPress.com site

Alex Holland's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Castlerockseb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Rumena Zlatkova

Life is what we make happen

Thomas Barnes

Welcome to my head... Please wipe your feet on the way in.

