A304MC Pass it on – Mentoring

Today we had our first mentoring session which is first of all learning based and will be for 5 weeks and then it will be putting it all into practice when mentoring in the TV studio.

We started off with an ice breaker to get get us all talking and get our minds engaged and woken up, and as we learnt this can be a good way to get people talking and introducing themselves to each other. In our sub groups we each had to come up with 3 facts about ourselves, 2 being true and the other a lie and the others had to try and figure out which one was the lie.

My three facts were;

1. I love Marmite.
2. I have to turn off switches when there is nothing plugged into the socket.
3. When I have enough money I want a boob job.

Can you work out which one is the lie?

Knowing that ice breakers work well we will be doing one each week, and I will keep these in mind when it comes to our mentoring practice.

We continued to look at what is means to be a mentor, the role itself and how any of us who have mentored before worked and also how we remember those who we have seen as a mentor.

To be a mentor you must:

  • Be Understanding.
  • Have Patience.
  • Put Yourself On The Same Level As Your Mentee.
  • Be Creative With Knowledge.
  • Be Trustworthy.
  • Be Reliable.
  • Be Positive.
  • Have The Right Temperament.

As a mentor you are there to:

  • Give Guidance.
  • Support.
  • Advise (Suggest) Lessons Are Best Learnt Through Mistakes.
  • Help.
  • Be A Role Model.
  • Infuse New Knowledge.
  • Enable Your Mentee (Unlock Potential).
  • Set Goals.
  • Encourage.

Looking at our own lives we had to pick out someone who we believe has mentored us, I picked my sister as she has always been there for me throughout growing up and is always there to support and encourage me and just be there when I need her. I believe she is my biggest mentor yet as I have learnt from some of her mistakes but she also lets me make my own mistakes though is, however, there to advise me and offer guidance.

For the last part of the session we then had to make up a poem about one of our mentors, called a pyramid poem;

•Line 1: Noun, subject of the poem
•Line 2: Two adjectives
•Line 3: Three verbs with -ing
•Line 4: A question and a statement (or two questions or two statements)
Mine is about my ALevel English and Media Studies teacher Mrs Devereux who always had the time of day for me whatever I needed help with, she always pushed me to do better. She was frustrating at times but a damn good teacher that got me the grades I needed to get into university!

Heels
Blonde, Bad Hearing
Shouting, Laughing, Smiling
Is There Any Other Like Her?
Probably Not!

About gailenepierre

Ambitious and driven but knows how to have funnnn :)

Leave a Reply

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

pms305mc

Power Memory Spectacle

Sunil's Media Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

The last step, year 3!

Final Year, final blog!

bigbouncybalibus

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dean Atkinson

Director, Producer, Writer, Presenter

Finale Year

Greatness comes in time, with hard work and dedication.

thelifeofdeano

Life is what you make it.

sammieprior

Just another WordPress.com site

162MC

Just another WordPress.com site

kurtlambertmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

digitalfilms

a blog by Oliver Peters

documentaryproduction261

Just another WordPress.com site

Alex Holland's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Castlerockseb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Rumena Zlatkova

Life is what we make happen

Thomas Barnes

Welcome to my head... Please wipe your feet on the way in.

