360MC Memory Artefact – Development/Process

The process for this memory artefact has been a very long one as although I had my idea down from the day of the lecture, and the actual filming process went smoothly, the editing was a completely different story!

At first I didn’t know where to start with my footage, I knew what I wanted it to look like and how I wanted it to function but in terms of the footage I didn’t know which parts to include, until I realised that the most interesting and humours parts were where people forgot the items and were desperately trying to recall them. These are the clips I have used and the last clip is full length as this was the winner, who didn’t guess all items but out of the 20sec group managed to guess the most.

As I am very particular and a complete perfectionist, it took me forever to place and position all the items around the screen and fiddle with them so that they all fit and looked relatively the same size. It took me two days to get it to a point where I was happy to call it a rough edit in order to receive feedback, which I thought was going to be horrendous as it was an unfinished piece, though I got some really good comments and areas to work upon plus the areas that I had already planned to change.

Fixing the rough edit again took a lengthy amount of time simple because by the end of it there were at least 22 tracks of footage and each section took 12 minutes to render every time something was changed. I worked upon the feedback given changing the desaturation to check list ticks and adding titles to provide a little more information, as well as adding a track to try and cover up the horrible camera sound which I was unable to fix despite trying everything.

Overall the preparation could have been a little better in terms of filming and editing, however, I think that all the endless hours spent working on this artefact paid off as it demonstrates the unreliability and pressures of memory. As this was my last artefact to create I wanted it to not only have a solid idea behind it but to make it visually solid and I think I have managed to achieve this. I can happily say this is the piece of work that I am most proud of this year so far, and hard work, sweat and tears really do pay off.

Final Edit

Tags: , , ,

About gailenepierre

Ambitious and driven but knows how to have funnnn :)

Leave a Reply

JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project

Capturing the beauty of the human spirit -- in mid-air -- around the world

pms305mc

Power Memory Spectacle

Sunil's Media Blog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

The last step, year 3!

Final Year, final blog!

bigbouncybalibus

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Dean Atkinson

Director, Producer, Writer, Presenter

Finale Year

Greatness comes in time, with hard work and dedication.

thelifeofdeano

Life is what you make it.

sammieprior

Just another WordPress.com site

162MC

Just another WordPress.com site

kurtlambertmedia

Just another WordPress.com site

digitalfilms

a blog by Oliver Peters

documentaryproduction261

Just another WordPress.com site

Alex Holland's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Castlerockseb's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Rumena Zlatkova

Life is what we make happen

Thomas Barnes

Welcome to my head... Please wipe your feet on the way in.

